Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Text Size

Swedes sweep SWC for sixth year in a row

Team gears up for districts.

The Swede speech team is on a roll when it comes to competing at Southwest Conference.

In Minden on Wednesday, the Swedes captured the conference sweepstakes crown for the sixth time in a row.

Varsity team members finished 18 points ahead of their closest competitor which was Minden. Ogallala was third.


“Our kids did very well,” said speech team adviser Dan Jensen. “This was a true team effort because in every event we took to conference, we scored at least five points for our team.


“Everyone competed at their best.”

Senior Zac Franzen was a double gold medal winner, finishing first in serious prose and duet acting along with Josh Clark.

Jensen described SWC as tough competition in speech.

“I think it is very similar to what we typically see for districts in regards to the quality of competition so I feel very fortunate to have done so well,” he said.

Jensen said the Swedes have come on strong late in the season.

“They have a very good understanding of what it takes to do well at these high-stakes tournaments,” he said.

In preparing for district B-5 competition today, hosted by Gothenburg, Jensen said students have had the right attitude in practice and are anxious for the contest to start.

“We have made some small changes this week to many of the events that will keep their performances fresh this late in the season,” he explained.

Jensen said he thinks the Swedes are poised to have solid performances at districts.

Others who placed at SWC were:

Extemporaneous speaking—2. Chris Block, 3. Josh Clark.

Persuasive speaking—2. Brennan Costello, 4. Beth Advey.

Informative speaking—2. Brennan Costello, 5. Stephanie Rubenthaler.

Entertainment speaking—3. Ashlee Bruntz

Humorous prose—3. Jeramie VanAcker.

Serious prose—2. Elisa Meridith.

Poetry—2. Elisa Meridith.

Duet acting—4. Jeramie VanAcker and Willis Middleton.

Other competitors were Lauren Schmiett in entertainment speaking, Ashlee Bruntz in humorous prose, Haydon McKenney in poetry; and two teams of oral interpretation of drama— Chris Block, Colton Bebensee, Liz Graham, Leah Loostrom, Alex Spencer; and Lauren Schmiett, Crystal Moore, Makayla Franzen, Mckenzie Brand,

Kristi Block.