Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Text Size

Elected officials throw hats into ring

Filing deadlines in February, March.

Incumbents have a little more than a month to decide whether or not they wish to return to public office.

With a deadline of Feb. 15 to file, some filings have started to trickle in.

Challengers must meet a March 1 deadline to run for office.

The primary election is May 11 followed by the general election Nov. 2.

City of Gothenburg

In addition to Gothenburg mayor, two council seats are open.

As of Tuesday, city clerk Connie Dalrymple said no one has filed for the seats occupied by Mayor Joyce Hudson, east-ward representative Tim Strauser and Jeff Whiting who represents west ward.

If he decides to file, it will be Strauser’s first run for council as he was appointed to the seat in August of 2008 when Roger Dudley resigned from the position.

The positions are four-year terms.

District 20 school board

Four-year positions open on the District 20 school board are now occupied by incumbents Nate Wyatt, Pat Hecox and Scott France.

No one has filed for re-election or election to those seats.

Hospital board

Larry Gill has chosen to run for another four-year term representing Gothenburg Memorial Hospital.

Brent Block is the only other board member with an open seat.

Airport Authority

Dr. Craig Bartruff has filed for re-election to the Airport Authority board.

No other seats are open on this five-member board whose members serve six-year terms.

Dawson County offices

A handful of incumbents have filed for re-election to office.

All are registered Republicans, according to Dawson County election coordinator Sheri Bellamy.

Terms are for four years.

Filing for re-election to a county office include sheriff Gary Reiber, treasurer Sharon Wood, clerk Karla Zlatovsky, district court clerk Sherri Warner and surveyor Jacob Ripp.

Other county seats open and their occupants include:

Assessor—John Moore.

Attorney—Elizabeth Waterman.

Public defender—Derek Mitchell.

Register of deeds—Ruth Meyer.

County commissioner seats open include Bill Stewart of Lexington, who represents District 2, and Roger Bauer of Overton, a District 3 representative.