Sunday, June 24, 2018
Text Size

3 incumbents will not seek re-election

Legislative race heats up with another contender

East-ward city councilman Tim Strauser and west-ward colleague Jeff Whiting will not seek a second term on the Gothenburg City Council.

Nor will District 20 school board president Scott France.

Local residents Bruce Clark and Lee Koubek have filed to run for the east-ward seat while Koby Rickertsen and Verlin Janssen will be on the ballot to represent the west ward.

Two fellow school district board members, Nate Wyatt and Jon Hudson, are running for re-election.

Devin Brundage has also indicated his desire for one of the three seats open.

Democratic candidate Luis Sotelo of Lexington announced his intention Saturday to run for the District 36 legislative seat. Term limits will force Sen. John Wightman of Lexington from the seat.

Matt Williams of Gothenburg, a Republican, is also seeking the office.

Incumbents had until Tuesday to file for re-election while challengers must meet a March 3 deadline.

In related city council filings, Mayor Joyce Hudson has decided to serve another four years and has filed for re-election.

Hospital board

Gothenburg Memorial Hospital incumbent board members Larry Gill and Ryan O’Hare are seeking another four-year term.

Airport Authority

Both incumbent Roger Tederman and new appointee Lori Hoesel have indicated their desire to retain two seats open on the Gothenburg Airport Authority board.

Dawson County offices

Dawson County officeholders who are running for re-election include county clerk Karla Zlatkovsky, sheriff Gary Reiber, treasurer Sharon Wood, surveyor Mark Streit, assessor John Moore and attorney Elizabeth Waterman.

Shawn Boyd of Gothenburg is challenging Streit for the surveyor position.

Two Lexington women, Dian Lauby and Debra Stuchlik, are running for register of deeds.

Four are vying for clerk of the district court and include Becky Boryca of Cozad and Maria Reutlinger-Maravilla, Jackie Rowan and Maria Barajas, all of Lexington.

Two incumbents who want to continue serving as commissioners are Bill Stewart, who represents District 2 and District 3 representative Dennis Rickertsen. Both are from Lexington.

Steve Luther of Lexington has filed for one of two seats open on the weed board.

County races are partisan and all who have filed are Republicans.