Monday, June 18, 2018
Text Size

Grapplers place third at Ogallala

Jayden Miller pins his way to a 5-0 record.

Gothenburg’s wrestling team and staff were excited to start the second half of the season in Ogallala Saturday.

The Swedes used that enthusiasm to earn third place in the Ogallala Invite posting a 3-2 record in the duals tournament.

Gothenburg managed to beat Chase County, Hershey and Sidney while falling to eventual champion Gordon-Rushville and Ogallala.

“We wrestled well as a team and did some good things,” head coach Tom Scott said. “I was pleased with our preparation and we won a majority of our matches due to our conditioning.”

That conditioning proved important with two guys unable to compete due to sickness the day of the invite.

“We had to overcome that adversity,” Scott said.

When those guys went down the team stepped up and continued to wrestle hard.

Seniors Skyler Kottwitz, Talbot Buchholz and Tyson Miller along with underclassman Jayden Miller and Tyler Alvarez led the team, Scott said, adding that if the entire team would’ve been healthy, he thought they could’ve contended for first place.

In round one Gothenburg defeated Chase County 46-24.

That dual was followed by a 51-30 loss to Gordon-Rushville and the Swedes were defeated 48-30 by Ogallala before pool matches began.

Once in pool rounds, Gothenburg beat Sidney 42-36 and Hershey 48-32 to earn a spot on the podium.

“The most important thing is we won more close matches than we lost,” Scott said. “But we still have room for improvement.”

Gothenburg’s best record belonged to sophomore Jayden Miller who went 5-0 at 152 pounds.

“We’ve been expecting good things from him since November,” Scott said. “This weekend he wrestled well and was where we want him to be.”

The Swedes look to continue wrestling well in the Lexington Duals on Friday starting at 1:30 p.m. and against Cozad at home Tuesday.

At Lex, Gothenburg faces three district opponents in its first three matches. Those are must-win matchups, Scott said.

“We want to win matches against district opponents all the time,” he said. “It will be a long meet full of quality matches.”

The Swedes will peak out their performance early this week and then relax going into Friday’s competition, Scott said.

Looking ahead to Tuesday, the Swedes host rival Cozad at 6:30 p.m.

With a quick turnaround and only one day of preparation for the Haymakers, Scott said the team will focus on technical skills and keeping their focus sharp.

Scott noted that this is becoming a huge rivalry and wants the Gothenburg community to fill the gym.


106—Bryce Larson won 13-1 major decision over Adam Burpo (Chase County); pinned Christian Gilchriest (Ogallala), 0:33; won unopposed; lost 7-0 decision to Tucker Hicks (Hershey).

126—Tyler Alvarez won unopposed; lost 6-0 decision to Cole Witt (Gordon-Rushville); pinned Toray Smith (Ogallala), 3:59; pinned Austin Storbeck (Sidney), 1:36; pinned Blake Fletcher (Hershey), 1:05.

132—Hayden Hubbard was pinned by Hunter Dillan (Chase County), 1:12; was pinned by JJ Hilliker (Gordon-Rushville), 1:05; was pinned by Cobe Hinton (Ogallala), 1:23; won unopposed; won unopposed.

138—Talbot Buchholz was pinned by Bryson Fisher (Chase County), 1:51; was pinned by Shane Child (Gordon-Rushville), 1:54; pinned Carson Keller (Ogallala), 1:09; won unopposed; lost by technical fall 17-2 to Chayton Crow (Hershey).

145—Seth Portiner won unopposed; was pinned by Trent Zink (Ogallala), 1:06; was pinned by Mchael Muggli (Sidney), 2:32; won unopposed.

152—Jayden Miller won unopposed; pinned Micah Sherbarth (Gordon-Rushville), 2:47; pinned Chris Gallegos (Ogallala), 2:26; pinned Luckias Higer (Sidney), 4:48; won unopposed.

170—Skyler Kottwitz won unopposed; was pinned by Ken Graham (Gordon-Rushville), 5:40; pinned Jared Washa (Ogallala), 2:39; pinned Alex Maestas (Sidney), 4:55; pinned Wyatt McConnell (Hershey), 1:21.

182—Tyson Miller won unopposed; pinned Taylor Hood (Gordon-Rushville), 3:25; was pinned by Matthew Skinner (Ogallala), 4:53; pinned Brandon Lulf (Sidney), 4:55; pinned Kris Smith (Hershey), 1:10.

195—Tyler Miller won unopposed; won unopposed; was pinned by Brody Clevelan (Ogallala), 3:01; was pinned by Kane Taylor (Sidney), 5:01; won unopposed.

220—Chad Schmiett won unopposed; was pinned by Daulton Lurz (Ogallala), 1:14; was pinned by Jake Heeren (Sidney), 1:04; won unopposed.