Wednesday, September 17, 2014
   
Text Size

Legion baseball season begins May 23

The Gothenburg Legion Baseball Program is back to full strength with Seniors and Juniors teams playing this year.

Last season, participation numbers weren’t sufficient to field a Juniors team.

The season opens Thursday, May 23, at Holdrege. Local teams will play their home opener on Friday, May 24, against Cozad.

Mark Bartels will manage the Seniors team with Brian Bullock managing the juniors. Both will be assisted by Matt Ostergard and Tré Ostergard.

Four years ago there was no Senior level team for similar reasons and Lexington is facing the same situation, fielding only a Junior team this season.

The Legion teams will again participate in the Mid-Nebraska Baseball League and will play mostly familiar opponents.

Additional contests could be scheduled with Minden, Hershland and Shelton/Gibbon. The Cozad contests could be Juniors only or Seniors only.

The schedule includes a Senior league all-star game on July 11 at a site to be determined.

The league championship is set for July 6 for Juniors and July 11 for Seniors.

The Junior Area 6 tournament will run July 12-16 at Cozad. Holdrege hosts the Area 6 Senior tournament July 19-23.

Elkhorn Mount Michael hosts the Junior state tournament July 20-24. The state Senior tournament is set for July 27-31 at Gering.

The will be no Killer B’s squad competing this season.

2013 SCHEDULE

Thursday, May 23—at Holdrege, 5:30/8 p.m.

Friday, May 24—Cozad here, 5:30/8 p.m.

Tuesday, May 28—Ogallala here, 5:30/8 p.m.

Wednesday, May 29—Broken Bow here, 5:30/8 p.m.

Saturday, June 1—Holdrege here, 1/3:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 2—at Cambridge, 4:30/6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 4—Lexington here, 7 (Juniors only)

Wednesday, June 5—Overton here, 5:30/8 p.m.

Sunday, June 9—at Lexington, 4 (Juniors only)

Tuesday, June 11—at Cozad, 5:30/8 p.m.

Wednesday, June 12—McCook, 5:30/8 p.m.

Saturday, June 15—at Broken Bow, 1/3:30

Sunday, June 16—at Kearney, 5:30/8 p.m.

Tuesday, June 18—Cambridge here, 5:30/8 p.m.

Wednesday, June 19—at McCook, 5:30/8 p.m.

Friday, June 21—Oxford here, (Juniors only doubleheader), 5:30/8 p.m.

Wednesday, June 26—at Overton, 5:30/8 p.m.

Friday, June 28—at Ogallala, 4:30/7 p.m. MT

Saturday, June 21—Aurora here, 1/3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 2—League Rain Day

Tuesday, July 2—Kearney here, 5:30/8 p.m.

Saturday, July 6—Juniors League Championship, TBA

Sunday, July 7—at Oxford (Juniors only doubleheader), 1/3:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 10—Seniors League Championship, TBA

Thursday, July 11—Seniors All Star Game, TBA

July 12-16—Juniors area tournament

July 19-23—Seniors area tournament

July 19-23—Juniors state tournament

July 27-30—Seniors state tournament

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login