Monday, June 18, 2018
Text Size

Eight Swedes medal at Cozad on third straight day wrestling

Exposure provided baseline for improvement.

COZAD—Some might think it’s simply crazy for high school wrestlers to compete three straight days to start the season.

Gothenburg wrestling coach Eric Manstedt admits he might be a little nutty but finishing a three-day stint at the Cozad Invite on Saturday gave the Swedes a realistic view of themselves.

“I wanted to see what we’re made of,” Manstedt said. “Some kids were dog tired Saturday and a few looked a little rough in a couple of rounds but it definitely revealed our strengths and weaknesses.”

Eight Swedes earned medals as the Gothenburg team finished sixth of 15.

Mitch Spiegel at 103 pounds and Tanner Schwanz at 119 were runners-up in their classes.

Dane Ehlers finished third at 285, Chris Hyde and Tommy France were each fifth at 135 and 215 while Dillon Larson, Justin Larson and Bryce Eggleston brought home sixth-place medals at 112, 125 and 130 respectively.

“It was a tough tournament,” Manstedt said. “Gretna, Aurora and Adams Central are likely to be rated in Class B sometime throughout the season.”

Those teams placed first, second and third in the meet, respectively.

The exposure to stiff competition and the atmosphere of such a large meet were beneficial to Manstedt’s wrestlers.

“It showed us that we’re goers and we don’t quit,” the coach said. “It also revealed that we need to revise some technical things but it turned out just how I’d expected.”

The Swedes travel to Columbus Friday and Saturday for the Nebraska Duals.

Manstedt said there is potential for 10 matches at each weight.

Wrestling begins at 3 p.m. Friday and 8 a.m. on Saturday at Platte Community College.

TEAM RESULTS: 1. Gretna 182.5; 2. Aurora 141.5; 3. Adams Central 137; 4. McCook 136.5; 5. Cozad 109.5; 6. Gothenburg 97; 7. Medicine Valley 84; 8. Sidney 74; 9. Minden 73.5; 10. Hastings St. Cecilia 71; 11. Lexington 61; 12. Alliance 56; 13. Seward 53; 14. Wahoo 52; 15. Ogallala 49.


103—Mitch Spiegel pinned Travis Donlin of Gretna in 3:45; pinned Connor Lococo of Sidney in 1:35; pinned by A.J. Farrand of Aurora in 3:26; second place.

112—Dillon Larson pinned by Jesus Guana of McCook in 37 seconds; pinned by Logan Hunke of Cozad in 21 seconds; pinned by Kelby Nelson of Alliance in 23 seconds; sixth place.

119—Tanner Schwanz pinned Jon Hock of Adams Central in 1:22; won 4-3 decision over Dillon Denny of Aurora; lost 9-2 decision to Nate Morgan of McCook; second place.

125—Justin Larson won 9-7 decision over Tyson Dowler of Alliance; pinned by Jake Fahrenbruch of McCook in 5:29; won 7-4 decision over Randy Else of Wahoo; pinned by Caleb Lucero of Cozad in 2:45; pinned by Jake Fahrenbruch of McCook in 4:58; sixth place.

130—Bryce Eggleston pinned Kyle Groshong of McCook in 1:34; pinned by Colton Derr of Cozad in 1:54; won 5-1 decision over Travis Sweetser of Sidney; pinned by Adam Joseph of Adams Central in 36 seconds; pinned by Colton Derr of Cozad in 2:14; sixth place.

135—Chris Hyde pinned Manny Dominquez of Lexington in 2:36; pinned by Hunter Timmons of Medicine Valley in 1:37; pinned by Ryan Alexander of Adams Central in 4:30; pinned Zac Prester of Gretna in 1:51; fifth place.

140—Kyle Kleinknecht lost 16-0 technical fall to Keldon Osterman of McCook; lost 11-3 major decision to Bobby Grossman of Gretna.

145—Tyler Block lost 16-0 technical fall to Andrew McDonald of Aurora; pinned by Tanner Smith of Gretna in 1:54.

152—Alex McClement pinned by Matt Hornung of Wahoo in 16 seconds; forfeit to Jeff Homan of Gretna.

160—Kyle Demoret lost 7-3 decision to Ben Vincent of Aurora; pinned Andrew Garza of Alliance in 4:26; lost 7-3 decision to Tyson Lanka of Ogallala.

171—Jeron Seimer pinned by Andy Janovich of Gretna in 3:09; lost 11-4 decision to Joey Strickland of Aurora.

189—Tre Ostergard pinned by Alex Bond of Sidney in 1:07; won 7-4 decision over Tanner Evans of Gretna; pinned by Kevin Ousey of Aurora in 2:54.

215—Tommy France lost 9-6 decision to Thom Machal of Gretna; pinned Derek Flores of Aurora in 2:25; won 4-0 decision over Daniel Chacon of Cozad; pinned by Ben Konen of St. Cecilia in 43 seconds; pinned Thom Machal of Gretna in 1:42; fifth place.

285—Dane Ehlers won 6-1 decision over Bryan Romallo of Lexington; pinned by Nick Barber of Gretna in 4:31; won 3-1 overtime decision over Ross Stewart of McCook; lost 3-1 decision to Tanner Collins of Ogallala; third place.