Sunday, June 24, 2018
Text Size

Three challengers file for village, school board seats

Three non-incumbents have tossed their hats in the ring for open Brady village board and school board seats that will be filled during the November general election.

Three positions for four-year terms are open on the village board.

Chairman Jeff Miller has chosen not to file for re-election while trustees Todd Roe and Lynn Herrick will attempt to retain their seats on the board.

Both Roe and Herrick were appointed to the board March 2011 to fill vacancies left by mid-term resignations.

Challenger Rodrick Brown, 107 E. River St., completed the filing process with the Lincoln County clerk and election commissioner prior to the Aug. 1 deadline.

In the school board race, four will vie for three four-year terms.

Incumbents Marge Spencer and T.J. Walker had previously filed the to be on the November ballot.

Both were elected during the 2008 general election, with Walker serving slightly longer after having filled a vacancy earlier in the year.

Longtime school board member Harry Haythorn did not file for re-election.

Official challengers on the school board ticket will be Ryan Stearns, 21847 S. Scott Road, and Bryan Franzen, 302 W. Popleton.

Residents still considering running for either the school board or village board have until Oct. 26 to file a notarized affidavit with the clerk as official write-in candidates.

The general election is set for Nov. 6 with the Brady polling site at the Community Center.Polls open at 8 a.m.