Saturday, June 23, 2018
Text Size

Dist. 20 committee assignments named

France re-elected as president during Monday night meeting.

Because of his involvement in legislative issues, including school finance, District 20 school superintendent Mike Teahon appointed standing committees a month early at the board’s Monday night meeting.

Usually, Teahon waits to appoint standing committees until the February meeting.

See box for committee assignments.

At the beginning of the meeting, Jon Hudson was sworn in as the newest member of the board. Nate Wyatt and Scott France, who were re-elected, also took the oath of office.

France was then re-elected to another term as president of the board.

Wyatt was elected vice president and Bruce Clark re-elected as secretary.

Others re-appointed to positions were district business manager Kay Streeter as board secretary and Randy Waskowiak of First State Bank as treasurer.

In other action, the board extended Teahon’s superintendent contract for another three years. The contract now expires on June 20, 2014.

Board members also reviewed but made no decision on a 2011-2012 school calendar.

The proposed calendar starts school on Aug. 17 and ends classes May 17 with the last day determined by dismissals during the year for snowstorms or tournaments.

The board will approve the calendar at the Feb. 14 meeting.

Board members also voted to authorize the writing of a letter of commitment for the district to pursue accreditation from AdvancED North Central Accreditation.

Special education director and K-2 principal Theresa Messersmith and special education teacher Erica Johnson presented the annual

Find the complete story in our print edition. Receive the entire issue of the Gothenburg Times on-line in PDF format each Wednesday for only $25 per year. Call 308-537-3636 to subscribe.