Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Text Size

Bellamy: Voter turnout Tuesday anyone’s guess

Election officials in Dawson County don’t know whether there will be a rush to the ballot box Tuesday, Nov. 2.
Turnout during general elections without a presidential contest is typically low, according to county election coordinator Sheri Bellamy.
“But I really don’t know what to expect,” Bellamy said.
However Bellamy said 467 early ballots had been picked up or mailed from her office as of Tuesday morning compared to 375 before last May’s primary election.
Wednesday (today) is the last day voters can receive early ballots while Monday, Nov. 1, is the last day people can vote early at the county election office in Lexington.
The deadline to return early ballots is 8 p.m. on Election Day.
Local races
Two newcomers along with two incumbants are vying for three seats on the District 20 school board.
Shawn Boyd and Jon Hudson will be on the ballot as well as the names of incumbents Scott France and Nate Wyatt.
See page B4 for a profile of the candidates.
On the city side, Mayor Joyce Hudson and councilmen Tim Strauser (east ward) and Jeff Whiting (west ward) are running unopposed.
Also unopposed is Craig Bartruff who is an incumbent candidate for Gothenburg Airport Authority.
The name of District 36 senator John Wightman, who is unopposed, will appear on the ballot.
District 44 senator Mark Christensen is challenged by Thomas Baker, who previously represented the district but lost his seat due to term limits.
State races
Governor Dave Heineman and lieutenant govenor Rick Sheehy, who are both Republicans, are challenged by Democratic candidates Mike Meister and his running mate Anne Boyle.
Secretary of state and Republican John Gale faces Democratic challenger Janet Stewart.
Don Stenberg, a Republican, will face off against Democratic  contender Mark Stoj for the state treasurer’s office.
For the auditor of public accounts, incumbent and Republican Mike Foley is challenged by Michele Sallach-Grace who is a Libertarian.
Congressional races
Voters will decide a three-way race for the Third District congressional seat.
Incumbent Adrian Smith, a Republican, is challenged by Democrat Rebekah Davis and petition candidate Dan Hill.
Ballot amendments
Voters in Dawson County and across the state will have a say about whether the state treasurer’s office will be abolished next January.
They will also get a chance to decide whether the Nebraska Legislature can permit cities to fund economic or industrial development projects or programs from additional fund sources if approved by a majority of registered voters.
Fund sources may include property taxes, local option sales tax or other general tax levied by the city or generated from city-owned utilities or grants, donations or state and federal funds.
In past elections, sample ballots have been published in The Times. However, the county clerk decided against publication in an effort to reduce the election office budget.
For more information on the election, call the county election office at 308-324-2127.
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it 308-537-3636