Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Text Size

GHS coaches present Swede athletes with honors

Gothenburg High School coaches presented Swede athletes with awards and honored all letter winners during a banquet on Tuesday.

Highlighting the event was the announcement of the 2010 special award winners, including 12-sport honorees.

Mark Hilderbrand and Emily Max received the Dutch Zorn Award. The honor is presented annually to the top three-sport senior letter winner.

Hilderbrand lettered in football, basketball and track while Max is a letter winner in volleyball, basketball and track.

Landen Haake earned the Jack Logan award for football excellence. The award is given to an outstanding senior two-year football letterman.

Haake was a running back and defensive back for the 2010 Swede football team. He rushed for 1,180 yards last fall and finished his career with 2,940 rushing yards to finish No. 2 on the school’s all-time chart in career yards.

The 12-sport award is presented to any high school athlete who has been involved in a sport during each season of his or her high school career.

Six seniors qualified: Mark Hilderbrand, Landen Haake, Patrick Reeves, Tommy France, Derek Franzen, Joel Teahon, Ali Abramson , Emily Max, Kira Peterson and Tabitha Paul.

Following are past winners of the Dutch Zorn Award and awards for the various sports. Fall athletes were recognized earlier this year.

Zorn award history

BOYS—2009, Aaron Demoret; 2008, Alex Paul; 2007, Justin Wilson; 2006, Levi Fickenscher; 2005, Dustin Walker; 2004, Jordon Folkers and Matt Hilderbrand; 2003, Jeff Neujahr; 2002, Nathan Cheetsos; 2001, Brandon Koch and Blake Lambert; 2000, Pat Clark; 1999, Ross Hicken and Joe Johnson; 1998, Jeff Ellis; 1997, J.P. Thomalla; 1996, Shane Butterfield; 1995, Jeff Pramberg; 1994, Danny Kreis; 1993, Tony Brass; 1992, Heath Haynes; 1991, Willie Leahy; 1990, Adam Plank; 1989, Wade Fleischer; 1988, Joe Hudson and David Stevens; 1987, Shane Geiken; 1986, Rod Lohse and Travis Brock; 1985, Bump Novacek; 1984, Yancey Keiser; 1983, Terry Pramberg; 1982, Bob Edson; 1981, Jay Novacek; 1980, Lennie Ambler; 1979, Steve Dudley.

GIRLS—2009, Brooke Ballmer, 2008, Katie Keiser; 2007, no qualifying recipient; 2006, Kaitlyn Peterson; 2005, Kiley Peterson; 2004, Jamie Gonzalez; 2003, Cara Fisher; 2002, Jamie Jorgensen; 2001, Cassie Holmes; 2000,no qualifying recipient; 1999, Rachel Neujahr; 1998, Michelle Sitorius and Lindsey Stevens; 1997, Alison Bryant and Crystal Jareske; 1996, no qualifying recipient; 1995, Trina Franzen, Hallie Stevens and Stacy Hicken; 1994, Amber Schlichenmaier; 1993, Kim Ritola; 1992, Kara Fecht; 1991, Tina Peterson; 1990, Mary Karol Raymond and Rebecca Hecox; 1989, Elizabeth Healey; 1988, Cassie Janssen; 1987, Kristi Wahlgren; 1986, no qualifying recipient; 1985, Tricia Dudley; 1984, Brenda Peterson; 1983, Shelly Block; 1982, Michelle Wiggins; 1981, Lisa Franzen; 1980, Lori Miller.

Find complete awards for each sport in our print edition. Receive the entire issue of the Gothenburg Times on-line in PDF format each Wednesday for only $25 per year. Call 308-537-3636 to subscribe.