Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Text Size

Early voting indicates more interest

Voting official says contested races may bring out primary voters.

Ballot box turnout during primary elections without presidential candidates is typically low.

However based on early voting, Dawson County election officials are guardedly optimistic about what numbers may be on Tuesday, May 11.

“People are saying it won’t be a big turnout but early voting is better than last time,” said county clerk Karla Zlatkovsky.

County election coordinator Sheri Bellamy said 375 early ballots have been returned compared to about 300 in the last primary in 2008.

Wednesday (today) is the last day voters can receive early ballots. Monday, May 10, is the last day people can vote at the county election office in Lexington.

Bellamy said she thinks contested county races will bring people to the polls.

County races

On the county level, sheriff Gary Reiber is in a three-way race with Paul Schwarz of Cozad and Rick Hite of Gothenburg.

All three are Republicans.

Dawson County clerk Karla Zlatkovsky is opposed by Delpha Albus.

Both are from Lexington and are Republicans.

For county treasurer, incumbent Sharon Wood is challenged by Allison Luther.

They are Republicans and live in Lexington.

Unopposed county office holders, who are Republican, include:

Assessor—John Phillip Moore.

Attorney—Elizabeth Waterman

District court clerk—Sherry Warner

Public defender—Derek Mitchell

Register of deeds—Ruth Meyer

Surveyor—Jacob Ripp

With Roger Bauer of Lexington not refiling for his District 3 commissioner seat, Dennis Rickertsen and Bill Breck, both of Lexington, and Charles Stryker of Eddyville are vying for the position.

All will be on the Republican ballot.

County commissioner Bill Stewart is unchallenged in District 2.

Gothenburg candidates

Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board incumbents Larry Gill and Brent Block are unopposed and on the ballot as is Craig Bartruff for Gothenburg Airport Authority.

District 36 state senator John Wightman has no challengers. However Mark Christensen, representing District 44, faces fellow Republican Thomas Baker.

State races

On the Republican ticket, Gov. Dave Heineman has two challengers—Christopher Geary and Paul Anderson.

Mark Lakers is the lone Democrat who will face the Republican winner in the Nov. 2 general election.

With state treasurer Shane Osborn deciding not to run for re-election, three Republican candidates have announced their candidacies—Tony Fulton, Tom Nesbitt and Don Stenberg.

Mark Stoj will appear on the Democratic ticket.

Secretary of state John Gale has no opposition on the Republican ballot but will be challenged by Janet Stewart, a Democrat, in November.

Attorney general and Republican Jon Bruning has no challengers nor does Republican and auditor of public accounts Mike Foley.

Congressional races

Third District congressional representative Adrian Smith is opposed by fellow Republican Dennis Parker.

The winner of that race will face Democrat Rebekah Davis in the general election.

One proposed amendment appears on the primary ballot.

Nebraskans will decide whether to authorize the use of revenue bonds to develop and lease property for use by nonprofit enterprises as determined by law.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it 308-537-3636