Monday, June 18, 2018
Text Size

Four seek Dist. 20 board seats

Election filing deadline passes.

Three more candidates will run for election in Gothenburg and Dawson County.

Challengers had until Monday to file for

election. Incumbents met a Feb. 16 deadline.

Shawn Boyd of Gothenburg is one of four contenders for three seats on the District 20 school board.

Jon Hudson earlier announced his candidacy for the seat as did incumbents Scott France and Nate Wyatt.

Voters will decide who they want to serve on the board during the Nov. 2 general election

Another Lexington resident wants to become a Dawson County commissioner.

With Dennis Rickertsen filing for the District 3 seat now filled by Roger Bauer, it’s a three-way race between Rickertsen, Charles Stryker of Eddyville and Bill Brecks of Lexington. All are Republican including Bauer who did not file for re-election.

County commissioner Bill Stewart is unchallenged in District 2.

Since last week, Dawson County clerk Karla Zlatkovsky is now opposed by Delpha Albus. Both are from Lexington and are Republicans.

The top vote getter in political races in the May 11 primary will advance to the general election.


Gothenburg west ward council man Jeff Whiting and Tim Strauser, who represents east ward, have no challengers. Nor does Mayor Joyce Hudson.

Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board incumbents Larry Gill and Brent Block are unopposed as is incumbent Craig Bartruff who filed for the lone seat open on the Gothenburg Airport Authority.


The following county incumbents, who are also all Republican, have also filed.

Challengers are listed after the incumbent’s name.

Assessor—John Phillip Moore.

Attorney—Elizabeth Waterman

District court clerk—Sherry Warner

Public defender—Derek Mitchell

Sheriff—Gary Reiber, Paul Schwarz and Ricky Hite.

Register of deeds—Ruth Meyer

Surveyor—Jacob Ripp

County treasurer—Sharon Wood, Allison Luther


District 36 state senator—John Wightman