Thursday, June 21, 2018
Text Size

High number of early ballots mailed out

Official hopes for plenty of voters in Tuesday primary

The number of contested races in Dawson County may indicate a higher voter presence during Tuesday’s primary election.

At least that’s the hope of Dawson County clerk/election commissioner Karla Zlatkovsky.

Zlatkovsky said Monday that 580 early ballots were sent out.

However the absence of a presidential election this year could factor in keeping voter numbers low, she said.

“Early ballots are higher than normal so I’m hoping for a good turnout,” Zlatkovsky said.

A change voters will see for the first time this year is a cost-saving measure passed by state legislators that puts the names of candidates for county and local positions on the ballot in only contested races.

Uncontested races will automatically advance to the general election ballot in November.

Ballots will include both the English and Spanish language as they did in the last election.

There are no amendments or initiatives on the primary ballot.

Candidates on the primary include:

City council

J Buddenberg, Bruce Clark, Lee Koubek and Jay Richeson are on the east-ward ballot while Verlin Janssen, Gary Norseen and Koby Rickertsen are vying for a west-ward seat.

The field will be reduced to two for each seat in the primary.

Hospital board

Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board incumbents Larry Gill and Ryan O’Hare are being challenged by Mark Borchardt.

Two board members will be elected in the primary.

Dawson County offices

Four county nominations will be decided in the May primary.

All county races are partisan and all who are running are Republicans.

Challenger Ken Moody of Gothenburg is facing incumbent Gary Reiber of Lexington.

The district court clerk seat is a four-way race with Maria Barajas of Lexington, Becky Boryca of Cozad and Maria Reutlinger-Maravilla and Jackie Rowan, both of Lexington.

Two-way races involve the offices of register of deeds and surveyor.

Debra Stuchlik and Dian Lauby, both of Lexington, are vying for register of deeds and Shawn Boyd of Gothenburg is challenging Lexington’s Mark Streit for surveyor.

Because of the new law, the names of county assessor John Moore, county attorney Elizabeth Waterman, county clerk Karla Zlatkovsky, District 2 commissioner Bill Stewart, District 3 commissioner Dennis Rickertsen and treasurer Sharon Wood will not appear on the primary ballot but will on the November ballot.

All are unopposed.

District 36 legislative seat

The names of Matt Williams of Gothenburg, and Luis Sotelo of Lexington, will appear on the primary ballot as candidates for the 36th District state legislative seat.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it