Monday, June 18, 2018
Text Size

Students chosen for SWC Fine Arts Festival

Music, art selectees to travel to Valentine.

Several Gothenburg High School students were chosen by teachers to attend the Southwest Conference Fine Arts Festival March 21 and 22 at Valentine High School.

The annual event will culminate with a 4 p.m. concert and artwork will be displayed before and after the concert.

Other schools represented at the festival included Cozad, Minden, Ainsworth, Valentine, Ogallala and Broken Bow.

The band clinician is Dr. Michael Stephens from Chadron State College.

Stephens joined the faculty at Chadron State College in 2007.

His compositions have been performed by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, the Ion Sound Project, David Russell, Diba Alvi and his own jazz fusion group, Osmosis.

Stephens performed with numerous jazz, rock, and popular music groups in Northeast Ohio and Western Pennsylvania and Osmosis opened for Spyro Gyra, Chuck Mangione and Blood, Sweat, and Tears.

The professor also backed jazz greats Clark Terry, Bill Dobbins and Marian McPartland.

The visual arts portion of the SWC festival begins on Friday with a mural contest and mixer activities.

During the mural contest, all of the schools get the same theme and create a mural.

On Saturday, students will move through four mini workshops conducted by artists chosen by the host school.

Workshops will be in mixed media by Joan Swim of Springview, print making by Patricia Schemmer and western art by Otto Rosfeld, both of Valentine, and silk painting by Debby Galloway of Kilgore.

Choral students will rehearse with CSC clinician Dr. Joel Schreuder.

Schreuder joined the CSC music faculty in 2002 as the director of choral and vocal activities.

He has been active in Nebraska and the surrounding High Plains region as a guest conductor, clinician and adjudicator.

Since his arrival at CSC, he has conducted the High Plains Honor, Festival, and Men’s Choirs as well as several district music festivals and honor choirs in Nebraska, Wyoming, South Dakota and Colorado.