Friday, June 22, 2018
Text Size

Two-way race for sheriff

GMH board gains challenger

A Gothenburg man is challenging Dawson County sheriff incumbent Gary Reiber.

Nebraska state patrolman Ken Moody announced his candidacy this week.

Both Moody and Reiber are Republicans.

A third name has been added to the two seeking additional terms on the Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board.

Local minister Mark Borchardt is vying for one of the two seats open. Borchardt is pastor of the Victory Assembly Church of God Church.

Incumbents who filed for re-election earlier are Larry Gill and Ryan O’Hare.

Challengers in the 2014 election have until Monday to file for office.

City council

Bruce Clark and Lee Koubek, are running for one east-ward council seat and Koby Rickertsen and Verlin Janssen will be on the ballot to represent the west ward. One will be elected for each ward.

Mayor Joyce Hudson is seeking another four-year term.

School board

District 20 board members, Nate Wyatt and Jon Hudson, seek re-election and newcomer Devin Brundage has indicated a desire for one of the three seats open.

District 36 legislative seat

So far, the names of Matt Williams of Gothenburg, and Luis Sotelo of Lexington, will appear on the primary ballot as candidates for the Nebraska Legislature, representing the 36th District.

Airport Authority

Both incumbent Roger Tederman and new appointee Lori Hoesel have indicated their desire to retain two seats open on the Gothenburg Airport Authority board.

Dawson County offices

A new addition to the slate of those seeking county offices this week is Wayne Janssen of Gothenburg who is running for the weed board.

Janssen joins Steve Luther of Lexington who has also filed for one of the two seats available.

Besides Reiber, other Dawson County officeholders running for re-election include county clerk Karla Zlatkovsky, treasurer Sharon Wood, surveyor Mark Streit, assessor John Moore and attorney Elizabeth Waterman.

Shawn Boyd of Gothenburg is challenging Streit for the surveyor position.

Two Lexington women, Dian Lauby and Debra Stuchlik, are running for register of deeds.

Four are vying for clerk of the district court and include Becky Boryca of Cozad and Maria Reutlinger-Maravilla, Jackie Rowan and Maria Barajas, all of Lexington.

Two incumbents who want to continue commissioner duties are Bill Stewart, who represents District 2 and District 3 representative Dennis Rickertsen. Both are from Lexington.

County races are partisan and all who have filed are Republicans.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it