Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Text Size

Disappointment turns into excitement for the GHS speech team

Swede speech team edges out Gering for sweepstakes plaque at NP invite

The Swedes left North Platte Saturday with a runner-up sweepstakes plaque but on Sunday learned they had won the 2014 Blue & Gold Speech Invite.

Speech coach Dan Jensen said the error was because novice scores (first-time speech performers) were not added to varsity scores.

Once corrected, the Swedes dominated a field packed with Class A schools and finished with 670 points to Gering’s 496.

Gering was runner-up followed by Norfolk with 436 points in a contest with 32 schools competing.

“The kids and I are very excited about the win,” Jensen said. “These sweepstakes tournaments are very important to the team.

“They are an opportunity to make decisions, sacrifices and truly pull together as a team.”

Jensen said the Swedes had their sights set on winning and, although the reward was delayed, it is gratifying now.

To be eligible for the sweepstakes award, schools had to compete both in debate and speech.

After Friday’s debate contest, Gothenburg was in third place behind Norfolk and Gering. North Platte took themselves out of the contest since they hosted the event.

Teaming up to win novice public forum debate Friday, with wins in all five rounds, were seniors Abbie Mazour and Betsy Potter.

On Saturday, Potter became a double winner when she won gold in serious prose.

Fellow senior Ashley Wilkerson also took home double golds in extemporaneous speaking and oral interpretation of drama.

Novice Sara Picci topped the field in two events, winning both extemporaneous speaking and persuasive speaking.

Other Swedes who placed first were Dylan France in entertainment speaking and Roman Schmidt in poetry and novice Trenton Long in informative speaking.

There was no novice competition on Saturday. After two rounds, qualifying students competed against each other in a championship round for the top six places and an honors round for places seven through 12.

Prior to last year, the Swedes won the invite sweepstakes for six years.

Other schools at the meet, besides Gothenburg, included Gering, North Platte, Norfolk, Kearney, Valentine, Thedford, Paxton, Kearney, Scottsbluff, Ogallala, Chadron, Lexington, Julesburg, CO; Brady, Arnold, Bridgeport, Maxwell, Wallace, Perkins County, Hayes Center, Hyannis, North Platte St. Pat’s, South Platte, McPherson County, Callaway, Stapleton, Ainsworth, Mitchell, Arthur County, Wauneta-Palisade, Hershey and Dundy County-Stratton.

This Saturday, the team travels to Grand Island Northwest for the last meet of the regular season.

Individual results are as follows:

Public Forum Debate

Varsity: 2. Sara Picci and Kayla Trevino (four wins and one loss), 3. Ashley Wilkerson and Carlin Daharsh (three wins and two losses); Novice: 1. Abbie Mazour and Betsy Potter (five wins and no losses), 3. Drake Brand and Dylan France (four wins and one loss); 4. Roman Schmidt and Gage Taylor (three wins and two losses).

Lincoln/Douglas Debate

Varsity: 3. Nevaeh Donahue (two wins and three losses.)

Extemporaneous speaking

Varsity: 1. Ashley Wilkerson, 2. Abbie Mazour, 9. Kayla Trevino; superior ribbon, Roman Schmidt; Novice—1. Sara Picci, 5. Julyssa Rocha; superior ribbons, Alex Meyer, Jason Jobman.

Persuasive speaking

Varsity: 8. Alayna Collins; Novice: 1. Sara Picci, 2. Ebony Anderson, 3. Julyssa Rocha; superior ribbon, Jessie Rudolph.

Informative speaking

Varsity: 12. Kylee Beyea; superior ribbons, Rachel Rice and Kelsey Kuhlman; Novice: 1. Trenton Long.

Entertainment speaking

Varsity: 1. Dylan France, 4. Alayna Collins; superior ribbon, Rebecca Riley; Novice: 3. Dominic Long, 4. Alex Meyer.

Humorous prose

Varsity: 6. Drake Langley, 7. Joseph Darling, 9. Abbie Mazour, 11. Brett Mann; superior ribbons, Dylan France, Jett Seimer, Rachel Rice.

Serious prose

Varsity: 1. Betsy Potter, 2. Ashley Wilkerson, 4. Abbie Mazour, 8. Drake Brand; superior ribbon, Kennedy Wahlgren; Novice—5. Jessie Rudolph.


Varsity: 1. Roman Schmidt, 5. Betsy Potter; superior ribbon, Kennedy Wahlgren.

Duet acting

Varsity: 4. Jett Seimer and Joseph Darling, 8. Drake Brand and Brett Mann; superior ribbons, Kayla Trevino and Drake Langley, Rebecca Riley and Kylee Beyea; Novice: 2. Jason Jobman and Nathan Jobman.

Oral interpretation of drama

Varsity: 1. Ashley Wilkerson, Drake Langley, Rachel Rice, Rebecca Riley, Jett Seimer; 10. Gage Taylor, Kylee Beyea, Kayla Trevino, Alayna Collins, Trenton Long; Novice—2. Myles Mendell, Dominic Long, Ebony Anderson, Julyssa Rocha.

Also competing were Faith Rickertsen and Macey Schroeder.