Friday, June 22, 2018
Text Size

Clock ticking for incumbent office holders

With an election deadline looming Tuesday for incumbents, several have filed.

And some have not.

Challengers must meet a March 3 deadline.

City council

Mayor Joyce Hudson has decided to serve another four years.

However east-ward council member Tim Strauser has not yet filed nor has Jeff Whiting, who represents the west ward.

Two who have filed for Strauser’s seat are Lee Koubek and Bruce Clark.

District 20 school board

School board president Scott France has not yet filed but two fellow board members have—Nate Wyatt and Jon Hudson.

Devin Brundage has also indicated his desire for one of the three seats open.

Hospital board

Two seats are open on the Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board and board members Larry Gill and Ryan O’Hare filed this past week.

Airport Authority

Both incumbent Roger Tederman and new appointee Lori Hoesel have indicated their desire to retain two seats open on the Gothenburg Airport Authority board.

Dawson County offices

One incumbent who decided to run for re-election this past week is Dawson County attorney Elizabeth Waterman.

Other officeholders who filed earlier include county clerk Karla Zlatkovsky, sheriff Gary Reiber, treasurer Sharon Wood, surveyor Mark Streit and assessor John Moore.

Shawn Boyd of Gothenburg is challenging Streit for the surveyor positions.

Two Lexington women, Dian Lauby and Debra Stuchlik, are running for register of deeds.

Four are now vying for clerk of the district court with the addition of Maria Barajas of Lexington this past week.

Others are Becky Boryca of Cozad and Maria Reutlinger-Maravilla and Jackie Rowan, both of Lexington.

Two incumbents want to continue serving as commissioners.

They are Bill Stewart, who represents District 2 and District 3 representative Dennis Rickertsen. Both are from Lexington.

Steve Luther of Lexington has filed for one of two seats open on the weed board.

County races are partisan and all who have filed are Republicans.

Nebraska Legislature

So far, Matt Williams of Gothenburg, who is running for the 36th District legislative seat, is unopposed.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it