Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Text Size

Eight in winner’s circle at NP speech meet

The Swedes finished off their regular speech season Saturday in North Platte with eight competitors earning gold medals.

Nineteen schools attended the “Best of the West” contest.

Speech team adviser Dan Jensen said he was happy with the results, noting that most of the students had a fun day and returned home feeling confident.

“That’s just where we want to be as we move into conference and districts,” Jensen said.

Varsity students competed at the Southwest Conference meet Tuesday in Cozad. Results were not known by the press deadline.

On March 12, the team travels to Minden for district competition.

“This week and the next will offer very challenging competition,” he said.

At the varsity meet, Carlin Daharsh was a double winner in both extemporaneous and informative speaking as was Brett Mann, who teamed up with fellow junior Drake Brand to win duet acting.

Mann was also part of the winning oral interpretation of drama team that performed, “All I Want to Know I Learned in Kindergarten.”

Other members of the team are Morgan Kowalewski, Carlie Stevens, Alayna Collins and Amanda Larson.

Rachel Rice won gold in serious prose.

The Swedes also won two individual silver and three third-place medals in events.

Besides Gothenburg, schools competing at the meet were North Platte, Kearney, Valentine, Chase County, Keya Paha County, Broken Bow, Ogallala, Grand Island Northwest, Sutherland, Hastings, Maxwell, Wallace, North Platte St. Pat’s, Lexington, Grand Island Senior High, Loup City, Hershey and South Platte.

Other results included:

Extemporaneous speaking

2. Ashley Wilkerson, 4. Jon Rehmert, 8. Abbie Mazour, 10. Kayla Trevino, 11. Roman Schmidt

Persuasive speaking

3. Alayna Collins, 4. Jon Rehmert, 5. Madison Costello

Informative speaking

2. Kylee Beyea, 9. Rachel Rice, 10. Kennedy Wahlgren

Entertainment speaking

4. Amanda Kowalewski, 7. Rebecca Miller, 9. Dylan France

Humorous speaking

3. Abbie Mazour, 5. Drake Brand, 6. Jacob Boehle, 7. Jon Rehmert, 11. Brett Mann

Serious prose

7. Abbie Mazour, 8. Kennedy Wahlgren


7. Madison Costello, 8. Carlin Daharsh, 9. Morgan Kowalewski

Duet acting

3. Jett Seimer and Joseph Darling, 5. Alayna Collins and Amanda Kowalewski, 8. Kayla Trevino and Carlie Stevens, 11. Amanda Larson and Morgan Kowalewski

Oral interpretation of drama

5. Ashley Wilkerson, Rachel Rice, Rebecca Miller, Kennedy Wahlgren

Also competing were Kristin Bartlett, Jessica Schmidt, Drake Langley and Betsy Potter.