Saturday, May 26, 2018
Text Size

Eagle boys look to build new identity

With only a couple of starters returning from last year’s 19-4 Brady boys basketball team, second-year coach David Jacobs has a lot of unanswered questions.

“We’re probably going to be feeling our way for little awhile,” Jacobs said. “We’ll definitely be a lot different team toward the end of the season.”

In the meantime, there will likely be a few growing pains as the Eagles work to replace two of the top three scorers and rebounders from a year ago as well as a host of playing experience.

“It’s a new year and a new team,” the coach said. “We’re going to build around the experience we do have and find a new identity.”

Guards Zach Mann and Bryley Roper, both seniors, provide the core for the Eagles as returning starters.

Classmates Michael Neiman and Cole Viter offer a small amount of experience.

“We’re probably going to see a lot of opponents key on Zach and Bryley,” Jacobs said. “That means we need some new guys to step up and I think we will see that.”

Exactly who that will be is one of those unanswered questions.

“It’s always fun for me as a coach to watch the kids develop,” Jacobs said. “There’s always that one kid who really surprises you, who does more than you ever thought he could. I can’t wait to see who that will be.”

Several teams in the Sandhills Conference were young last season and will come back with loads of experience.

Jacobs expects Sandhills/Thedford to come in as the conference favorite with Stapleton/McPherson County being much improved and Mullen offering athletic players.

The D2-9 sub-district includes Anselmo-Merna, Bertrand, Brady, Eustis-Farnam and Loomis.

Jacobs said Loomis will be a tough team and both Anselmo-Merna and Eustis-Farnam should be improved with Bertrand always developing solid athletes.

“We’re looking forward to seeing how the year unfolds,” the coach said.

Brady opens the season on Friday at Wauneta-Palisade, a team that went 11-11 last year.

Tipoff is set for 7:30 p.m.

Members of the 2012-13 Brady boys basketball team are (*denotes letter winner):

SENIORS—Kaleb Arterburn, Josh Boon, Marc Kramer-Davis, Zach Mann*, Michael Neiman*, Bryley Roper*, Cole Viter.

JUNIORS—Eric Roe, Sean Thomas, Austin Widick.

SOPHOMORES—Levi DeStefamo, Troy Lusk, Trevor Mann, Dalton Mays, Jon Taullie, Chase Viter .

FRESHMEN—Brant May, Dayne Porter, Nate Sitorius, Alec Trobaugh.

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login