Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Text Size

Gothenburg levy down slightly

Commissioners set final tax amount for residents

LEXINGTON—Gothenburg maintains the third highest property tax levy of all Dawson County communities for the 2012-13 budget year.

Cozad remains the highest with a levy of $2.347 while Lexington is second at $2.217.

County commissioners set the final appropriations and levies for the county during their regular bimonthly meeting Monday morning.

Gothenburg’s overall levy, which includes all taxing entities, drops slightly from $2.201 to $2.197, or .18%.

The village of Eddyville continues to be the most affordable community in the county as far as property taxes are concerned with a total levy of $1.939.

None of the community levies made significant changes this year.

In other business, commissioners discussed the county general assistance program with Dwana Flaig, a representative of the Department of Health and Human Services.

The county contracts with HHS to administer the county program that helps provide funding to individuals who don’t meet requirements for other state and local financial assistance.

Flaig, who works with other counties as well, said she intends to do some research into how Dawson County handles the general assistance program since some procedures vary from other counties.

She will report back Nov. 1.

In other action, the county board:

received an annual report from Dawson Area Development which noted a 1.1% increase in employment across the county despite the loss of Teneco Inc. in Cozad.

heard the monthly road report from superintendent Jon Mooberry.

accepted a bid from Plum Creek Motors in Lexington for $20,860 for a new pickup with topper for Emergency Management director Brian Woldt. The other bid from Pony Express Chevrolet in Gothenburg was rejected because it did not meet specifications.

authorized treasurer Sharon Wood to issue tax sales certificates for property totalling $1,578,543.

appointed Dean Kugler and Yvonne Rickertsen to the Nebraska Cooperative Government board which administers lottery funds.