Friday, June 22, 2018
Text Size

Golfers ready to tee off the season

Setting up each golf stroke with the same routine and mentally preparing for the next shot takes concentration and confidence.

That’s what second-year Swede girls golf coach Tara Foster wants from her players every time they approach the ball.

“We’ve really been working on concentration,” Foster said, “and the girls have such a positive attitude this year.”

There are 12 Gothenburg girls on the golf team, including returning state qualifier Heidi Teahon and five other letter winners.

Foster said the Swedes have strong team leadership from those experienced players, despite golf being such an individualized sport.

“I think everyone is just really excited about the season and what we think we will be able to accomplish as a team,” the coach said.

So far, Foster has seen the overall team strength at the tee box.

“All of the girls have been doing really well with their drives,” she said. “Again, it’s about concentration but it seems like everything is clicking like it should right now.”

The Swedes host only three meets this year: the Gothenburg Invite, Southwest Conference and the C-4 district.

“I have really stressed taking advantage of having those meets at home,” Foster said. “That’s why I keep pushing them to get out there on their own on the weekends so they can get to know everything they can about this course.”

Valentine, Minden and Ogallala will be tough to beat in the Southwest Conference, she said.

Gothenburg faces the Badgers and Whippets again in the district.

“These girls have the drive to go to state and I honestly believe they are capable of it,” Foster said. “Right now, though, we’re just ready to get the season going.”

The Swedes tee off first at the Kearney Catholic Invite on Thursday. The meet begins at 9 a.m. at Meadowlark Hills.

Members of the 2012 Gothenburg girls golf team are (*denotes returning letter winners):

SENIORS—Andrea Coder, Heidi Teahon*.

JUNIORS—Courtney Brown*, Paula Cardenas, Kelsey Kuhlman*, Mallory McCoy, Bailey Rickertsen, Sydney Sell*.

SOPHOMORES—Alex Boson, McKinley Harm*, Taylour Marshall*, Morgan Weaver.